Think of a Number by John Verdon

Think of a Number by John Verdon

£2.80

Availability: In stock

It begins with a letter. The letter contains a request - think of a number - and a sealed envelope. Inside the envelope is that number. When Dave Gurney, retired NYPD homicide detective, is contacted by an old college acquaintance about startling letters he's been receiving. How else was he able to predict his victim's thoughts, even his actions?

Only 9 left

OR

Description

Details

"Think of a Number" is the chilling debut from John Verdon. It begins with a letter...The letter contains a request - think of a number, any number - and a sealed envelope. Inside the envelope is that number. When Dave Gurney, retired NYPD homicide detective, is contacted by an old college acquaintance about some startling letters he's been receiving, it is at first little more than a diverting but sinister puzzle. Until the acquaintance is brutally killed. Suddenly Gurney finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation that makes no sense. The killer seems to have known his victim intimately. How else was he able to predict his victim's thoughts, even his actions? How did he know his darkest secrets? The killer is smart and he is playing with the police. Gurney needs to be smarter if he's going to catch him, but this seems only to be the beginning. And the killer alone knows where it will end. "Think of a Number" is the debut from John Verdon and is the first in a series starring the retired detective Dave Gurney. In the tradition of Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay, John Verdon's unique high-concept plot and memorable cast of series characters will be a major hit with thriller fans. Subsequent titles include "Let The Devil Sleep" and "Shut Your Eyes Tight". Praise for John Verdon: "The best thriller I've read in a long, long time". (Tess Gerritsen). "Wow! Totally absorbing, brilliantly written. The best book I've read this year". ("The Sun"). John Verdon, a former Manhattan advertising executive, lives with his wife on a small hilltop in upstate New York. His first two Dave Gurney novels are "Think of a Number" and "Shut Your Eyes Tight".

Additional Information

Additional Information

SKU GOR002006660
Title Think of a Number
Author By (author) John Verdon
Condition VERYGOOD
Binding Type Paperback
Publisher Penguin Books Ltd
Year Published 2010
Number of Pages 512
ISBN 10 0141048700
ISBN 13 9780141048703
Edition N/A
Prizes N/A
Cover Note: Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note: This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.
Ex Library No
Description

Details

"Think of a Number" is the chilling debut from John Verdon. It begins with a letter...The letter contains a request - think of a number, any number - and a sealed envelope. Inside the envelope is that number. When Dave Gurney, retired NYPD homicide detective, is contacted by an old college acquaintance about some startling letters he's been receiving, it is at first little more than a diverting but sinister puzzle. Until the acquaintance is brutally killed. Suddenly Gurney finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation that makes no sense. The killer seems to have known his victim intimately. How else was he able to predict his victim's thoughts, even his actions? How did he know his darkest secrets? The killer is smart and he is playing with the police. Gurney needs to be smarter if he's going to catch him, but this seems only to be the beginning. And the killer alone knows where it will end. "Think of a Number" is the debut from John Verdon and is the first in a series starring the retired detective Dave Gurney. In the tradition of Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay, John Verdon's unique high-concept plot and memorable cast of series characters will be a major hit with thriller fans. Subsequent titles include "Let The Devil Sleep" and "Shut Your Eyes Tight". Praise for John Verdon: "The best thriller I've read in a long, long time". (Tess Gerritsen). "Wow! Totally absorbing, brilliantly written. The best book I've read this year". ("The Sun"). John Verdon, a former Manhattan advertising executive, lives with his wife on a small hilltop in upstate New York. His first two Dave Gurney novels are "Think of a Number" and "Shut Your Eyes Tight".
Additional Information

Additional Information

SKU GOR002006660
Title Think of a Number
Author By (author) John Verdon
Condition VERYGOOD
Binding Type Paperback
Publisher Penguin Books Ltd
Year Published 2010
Number of Pages 512
ISBN 10 0141048700
ISBN 13 9780141048703
Edition N/A
Prizes N/A
Cover Note: Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note: This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.
Ex Library No

You may also be interested in the following product(s)