Free Shipping In Australia
Currency:
AUD $ AUD
Snitch Jacket By Christopher Goffard

Snitch Jacket
by Christopher Goffard

In Stock
$12.99
+10% GST
Benny Bunt is an ex-speed freak, a helplessly dominated husband, a misfit on the sun-bleached, fog-drenched streets of Southern California, and a barfly who makes pocket money snitching on his friends.
Only 4 left

Snitch Jacket Summary


Snitch Jacket by Christopher Goffard

Benny Bunt is an ex-speed freak, a helplessly dominated husband, a misfit on the sun-bleached, fog-drenched streets of Southern California, and a barfly who makes pocket money snitching on his friends. You'll like him. When Benny comes across Gus 'Mad Dog' Miller, wearing a neclace of human ears and throwing his Vietnam war medals against the wall of his favourite bar, he knows they're going to be firm friends. But soon he finds himself at the centre o fa mysterious double murder in the lonly Mojave Desert... Snitch Jacket is at once a detective story whose deeper mysteries are the nature of friendship, machismo and identity, and also a scabrously comic send-up of noir fiction. Snitch Jacket was a finalist at the Edgar Awards for Best First Novel.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Snitch Jacket Reviews


"This smart and funny first novel had me by the second page... A classily written caper with an authentically touching streak of melancholy" -- Sam Leith * Telegraph *
"Consistently amusing and affecting... Very much in the vein of Elmore Leonard or Carl Hiaasen...funny and fast moving" -- Jonathan Gibbs * Independent on Sunday *
"This is a thriller packed full of rich situations and even richer characters, and the fact that it is also very funny does not detract from the life-and-death action. This is a remarkably assured debut from Los Angeles Times reporter Christopher Goffard, who writes like an angel and plots like a demon" -- Matthew Lewin * Guardian *
"Goffard certainly knows how to make us sympathise with Benny - an articulate crook is always an attractive character" -- Zoe Jewell * Time Out *
"If you've been missing your regular Hunter S Thompson doses, then Snitch Jacket could fill the void" * Big Issue *

About Christopher Goffard


Christopher Goffard is a staff writer at the Los Angeles Times. In 2007 he was one of three finalists for the Pulitzer Prize in Feature Writing for his work for the St Petersburg Times. Snitch Jacket was a finalist at the Edgar Awards for Best First Novel. He lives with his family in Southern California.

Additional information

GOR001673426
Snitch Jacket by Christopher Goffard
Christopher Goffard
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Vintage Publishing
2008-02-04
272
0099501392
9780099501398
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.