Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
The Book of Unholy Mischief By Elle Newmark

The Book of Unholy Mischief

Used Price
$15.49
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
Hidden somewhere in the labyrinthine city is an ancient book, rumoured to contain thorny heresies and secrets of immeasurable power. While learning the alchemy of cooking, he quickly finds himself entangled in the search for the ancient tome, even suspecting the chef, his maestro, may be concealing valuable information.

Only 1 left


The Book of Unholy Mischief Summary


The Book of Unholy Mischief by Elle Newmark

It is 1498, and the whole of Venice is abuzz. Hidden somewhere in the labyrinthine city is an ancient book, rumoured to contain thorny heresies and secrets of immeasurable power. Luciano, a penniless orphan, has been plucked from the street and taken on as apprentice to the chef at the doge's palace. While learning the alchemy of cooking, he quickly finds himself entangled in the search for the ancient tome, even suspecting the chef, his maestro, may be concealing valuable information. But lurking in the wings are some of the most powerful, dangerous men in Venice, and Luciano's secret will lead him through a perilous maze to the centre of an intrigue that will test his deepest desires and loyalties.

Customer Reviews - The Book of Unholy Mischief


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Book of Unholy Mischief Reviews


"Rumour, court machinations and a rattling good plot" * Fanny Blake, Woman & Home *
"'Unashamedly fun and will appeal to fans of Kate Mosse and Dan Brown... full of twisting passageways, wall tapestries complete with spy holes, and all manner of skulduggery... The plot crackles along, piling up the murders and conspiracies among the culinary metaphors. A very promising new author'" * New Books Magazine *
"It is a clutching story, with love interests and court shenanigans, odd fellows and weird sisters, lurking in wait for their stage entrance, scenes of comic hilarity around the dinner table, and a high spirited tribute to the fruits of knowledge...In her own neat piece of alchemy, Newmark takes the heft of a potato and turns it into an ode for paying attention" * Kirkus Reviews, US *

About Elle Newmark


Elle Newmark lives in the hills north of San Diego, California. Her father, the chef who inspired her book, lives next door. He's 90 year's old, and still cooking. This is her first novel and she is currently writing her second.

Additional information

GOR001265799
The Book of Unholy Mischief by Elle Newmark
Elle Newmark
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Transworld Publishers Ltd
2009-09-10
464
0552775215
9780552775212
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.