Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
Never Stand Alone By Janet MacLeod Trotter

Never Stand Alone by Janet MacLeod Trotter

Condition - Very Good
5 in stock


An emotionally charged family drama set against the momentous backdrop of the 1984 Miners' Strike that divided a nation. Rebellious Carol defies her family to marry miner Mick Todd, but the strike brings tragedy, shocking secrets and tests their love to the limits.

Never Stand Alone Summary

Never Stand Alone by Janet MacLeod Trotter

When Carol Shannon, the unruly daughter of Brassbank's pit manager, falls for young miner, Mick Todd, their defiant relationship causes a storm in the close-knit mining village. For the bitterness between their families runs as deep as the coal seams that are Brassbank's lifeblood. But the hardest battles are still to come for rebellious Carol. With 1984 dawns the year long Miner's Strike that divides the nation and sets communities at war. Hardship not only threatens Brassbank's survival, but pushes Carol and Mick's passionate union to breaking point, leaving tragedy in its wake. Set against the fascinatingly vivid backdrop of a momentous time, Never Stand Alone is an impassioned novel of a woman's fight for her community, her family and the man she loves.

Never Stand Alone Reviews

'A gritty, heartrending and impassioned drama' Newcastle Journal 'A tough, compelling and ultimately satisfying novel ... another classy, irresistible read' Sunderland Echo 'She pulls no punches, tells it like it is and taps directly into your emotions. Excellent' Northern Echo 'A vivid picture of courage in the face of injustice...Never Stand Alone ought to increase the author's growing band of fans' Northern Review 'The gritty, unforgettable story of families torn apart by the conflict that divided a nation...a powerful story' World Books

About Janet MacLeod Trotter

Janet MacLeod Trotter was brought up in the North East of England with her four brothers, by Scottish parents. She is a best-selling author of 15 novels, including the hugely popular Jarrow Trilogy, and a childhood memoir, BEATLES & CHIEFS, which was featured on BBC Radio Four. Her novel, THE HUNGRY HILLS, gained her a place on the shortlist of The Sunday Times' Young Writers' Award, and the TEA PLANTER'S LASS was longlisted for the RNA Romantic Novel Award. A graduate of Edinburgh University, she has been editor of the Clan MacLeod Magazine, a columnist on the Newcastle Journal and has had numerous short stories published in women's magazines. She lives in the North of England with her husband, daughter and son. Find out more about Janet and her other popular novels at:

Additional information

Never Stand Alone by Janet MacLeod Trotter
Used - Very Good
MacLeod Trotter Books
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Never Stand Alone