Free Shipping In Australia
The King's Jaunt By John Prebble

The King's Jaunt
by John Prebble

In Stock
+10% GST
An account of the visit of King George IV to Edinburgh in August 1822, the first by a British monarch for almost two hundred years. The complex background to this visit, its political machinations and true motives are explained and highlight the corruption at the heart of this event.
Only 3 left

The King's Jaunt Summary

The King's Jaunt: George IV in Scotland, 1822 by John Prebble

An account of the visit of George IV to Edinburgh in August 1822, the first visit by a British monarch for almost two hundred years. It was a visit surrounded by ceremony. The feasting and processions went on almost continuously for ten days, before the satiated monarch sailed again for London. But the visit was a very complex affair. The author describes the political machinations which preceded the event, and the way different courtiers attempted to sway the King's dithering sybaratic moods. He also describes the true state of the Scottish clans and the hypocrisy which lay behind the welcome extended to the King. John Prebble is author of "Culloden", "Glencoe" and "The Highland Clearances" among many others.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

About John Prebble

John Prebble was born in Middlesex in 1915 but spent his boyhood in Saskatchewan, Canada. He became a journalist in 1934 and is now a historian, novelist, film-writer and the auhtor of several highly praised plays and dramatized documentaries for BBC television and radio. During the war he served for six years in the ranks with the Royal Artillery and later wrote a war novel, "The Edge of Darkness," based on his experiences. He is the author of "Age Without Pity," "The Mather Story," "The High Girders," an account of the Tay Bridge Disaster, "The Buffalo Soldiers," which won an award in the United States for the best historical novel of the American West, and "Culloden," a subject he became interested in when he was a boy in a predominantly Scottish township in Canada. "Culloden" was subsequently made into a successful television film. His other books include "The Highland Clearances," "Glencoe," "The Darien Disaster," "The Lion in the North," "Mutiny: Highland Regiments in Revolt," "John Prebble's Scotland" and "Landscapes and Memeories: An Intermittent Autobiography," for which he was awarded the McVitie Prize for Scottish Writer of the Year, 1993.

Additional information

The King's Jaunt: George IV in Scotland, 1822 by John Prebble
John Prebble
Used - Very Good
HarperCollins Publishers
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.