Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
Story Power By Kate Farrell

Story Power by Kate Farrell

Condition - New
$42.49
Only 2 left

Summary

In today's noisy, techie, automated world, storytelling is not only relevant, it's vital. Story Power provides techniques for creating and framing personal stories and effective tips for telling them in any setting.

Story Power Summary

Story Power: Secrets to Creating, Crafting, and Telling Memorable Stories (Communication, Presentations, Relationships, How to Influence People) by Kate Farrell

#1 New Release in Writing Researching & Publishing Guides Reconnect Through StoriesStories are everywhere. The art of storytelling has been around as long as humans have. And in today's noisy, techy, automated world, storytelling is not only prevalent-it's vital. Whether you're interested in enlivening conversation, building your business brand, sharing family wisdom, or performing on stage, Story Power will show you how to make use of a good story. Become an engaging storyteller. Storytelling is the most effective way to communicate and to affect change-if you know how to use it. Story Power provides techniques for creating and framing personal stories alongside effective tips for telling them in any setting. Plus, this book models stories with unique storytelling examples, exercises, and prompts, as well as storytelling techniques for delivery in a spontaneous, authentic style. Learn from the experts. Story Power is an engaging, lively guide to the art of storytelling from author and librarian Kate Farrell, a seasoned storyteller and founder of the Word Weaving Storytelling Project. In Kate's book, more than twenty skillful contributors with a range of diverse voices share their secrets to creating, crafting, and telling memorable tales. If you want to experience the power of storytelling in your life, Story Power is for you. In this book, you will discover: How to share your own coming-of-age stories and family folklore The importance of a personal branding story and storytelling marketing Seven Steps to Storytelling, along with helpful tools, organizers, and media options For readers of Storyworthy, The Storyteller's Secret, and Long Story Short, Story Power is a must-have.

About Kate Farrell

Kate Farrell, MLS, is a graduate of the School of Library and Information Studies, UC Berkeley. She has been a language arts classroom teacher (pre-school and grades kindergarten through 12th), author, librarian, university lecturer, and storyteller in Northern California since 1966. She founded the Word Weaving Storytelling Project, in collaboration with the California State Department of Education funded by grants from Zellerbach Family Fund, San Francisco, 1979-1991, to train educators at all levels, and published numerous educational materials. She is author of Word Weaving: A Storytelling Workbook, 1980; co-author of a monograph, Effects of Storytelling: An Ancient Art for Modern Classrooms, 1982; author of Word Weaving: A Teaching Sourcebook, 1984; producer and co-author of a training videotape, "Word Weaving: The Art of Storytelling," 1983, distributed by the University of California, Berkeley; and author of the professional book, Storytelling: A Guide for Teachers, Scholastic, 1991. She is also senior author of Storytelling in Our Multicultural World, an oral language development program for early childhood education, published by Zaner-Bloser Educational Publishers, 1994. Farrell has edited and appeared in numerous anthologies of personal narratives. She is author of the fabulist novella, Strange Beauty, and a collection of short stories, Woman Wonder Tales. http://katefarrell.net/ She currently offers storytelling workshops to writers in CWC branches and Mechanics Institute Library and the San Francisco Public Library and hosts a weekly storytelling blog: http://www.storytellingforeveryone.net/ Susan Wittig Albert is the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of Loving Eleanor (2016), about the intimate friendship of Eleanor Roosevelt and Lorena Hickok; and A Wilder Rose (2014), about Rose Wilder Lane and the writing of the Little House books. Her award-winning fiction also includes mysteries in the China Bayles series, the Darling Dahlias, the Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter, and a series of Victorian-Edwardian mysteries she has written with her husband, Bill Albert, under the pseudonym of Robin Paige. She has written two memoirs: An Extraordinary Year of Ordinary Days and Together, Alone: A Memoir of Marriage and Place, published by the University of Texas Press. Susan Albert is founder of the Story Circle Network, an international not-for-profit membership organization made up of thousands of women who want to document their lives and explore their personal stories through journaling, memoir, autobiography, personal essays, poetry, fiction, nonfiction, drama, and mixed-media, based in Austin, Texas. Susan Wittig Albert is a member of the Texas Institute of Letters and lives in the rugged Texas Hill Country, in the small town of Bertram, just northwest of Austin.

Additional information

NGR9781642501971
9781642501971
1642501972
Story Power: Secrets to Creating, Crafting, and Telling Memorable Stories (Communication, Presentations, Relationships, How to Influence People) by Kate Farrell
New
Paperback
Mango Media
2020-07-02
272
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - Story Power