Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Night Visitor By Lucy Atkins

The Night Visitor by Lucy Atkins

Condition - Like New
$16.49
Only 1 left

Summary

How far would you go to save your reputation? The stunning new noir thriller from the author of the bestselling The Missing One and The Other Child. Perfect for fans of Into the Water and Lie With Me.

The Night Visitor Summary

The Night Visitor: the gripping thriller from the author of Magpie Lane by Lucy Atkins

'One of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I've ever read' C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear

She knows your secret . . . and she'll make you pay

As high-flying TV presenter and historian Olivia Sweetman stands before an adoring crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into lies and if the truth comes out she'll lose everything.

Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward housekeeper of a Sussex manor who has become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. But Vivian has secrets too, and as the relationship between the women grows more and more tangled, a bizarre act of violence changes everything . . .

Perfect for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and He Said She Said.


PRAISE FOR THE NIGHT VISITOR:

'WONDERFUL' - Clare Mackintosh, author of Let Me Lie
'INSIDIOUS' - Guardian
'BRILLIANT' - Fiona Barton, author of The Child
'PROPULSIVE' - Metro
'INGENIOUS' - Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me
'SINISTER' - Red
'MENACING' - C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear
'FANTASTIC' - Sunday Mirror
'ELEGANT' - Joanna Cannon, author of Three Things about Elsie
'GRIPPING' - The Literary Review
'UNRELENTING' - Mick Herron, author of Spook Street
'ENTHRALLING' - Heat
'FASCINATING' - Linda Green, author of When My Eyes Were Closed
'INTELLIGENT' - Good Housekeeping

The Night Visitor Reviews

The rich characterisation makes for an alarmingly plausible riches-to-rags tale * Sunday Times *
This atmospheric, propulsive novel creeps up on you like footsteps in the dead of night... a tingling layer of gothic suspense * Metro *
Fabulously dark * Woman & Home *
A complex, creepy and insidious novel * The Guardian *
Sinister, utterly compulsive...will keep your pulse racing until its dramatic denouement * Red Magazine *
An absolute cracker...Fantastic! * Sunday Mirror *
Enjoyably creepy * Sunday Express *
Utterly gripping * The Literary Review *
Brilliantly believable...you will relish every page * The People *
This is an enthralling, creepy and endlessly twisty story about secrets, lies and the destructive power of ambition. We galloped to the climax. Five stars * Heat *
I read this book in one sitting. A tense psychological thriller which explores authenticity, fame, and lies and the depths you might sink to in order to protect your reputation. A page-turner that keeps you gripped from the very first page * Psychologies *
Bone-chillingly good * Boundless Magazine *
Such a sophisticated, layered read, I absolutely revelled in it. A wonderful, wonderful book. The plotting is superb but the real triumph is the characterisation. The moment I finished, I wanted to read it all over again * Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go *
Horribly, horribly compulsive. Brilliant * Fiona Barton, author of The Widow *
Elegant, clever, beautifully written. Lucy Atkins is, quite frankly, a genius * Joanna Cannon, author of The Trouble with Goats and Sheep *
Thrillingly creepy and darkly funny, The Night Visitor set me racing through the chapters with its brilliant plotting and characters that crackle off the page. A cannot tear yourself away novel * Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat *
It's wonderfully creepy, in that clever way that is tied in with character, as much as plot and setting. And the beetle metaphor is just ingenious * Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me *
It put me in mind of Misery, and Rebecca. Splendidly tense, creepy and enjoyable * Sarah Hilary, author of Quieter Than Killing *
One of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I've ever read...Dark, tense and menacing, I was quickly drawn into the story and couldn't put it down. Readers who enjoyed Notes on a Scandal by Zoe Heller will adore it * CL Taylor, author of The Lie *
Characters so real you could reach out and touch them. Absorbing, exciting and full of rich detail - snap this one up! * Lucie Whitehouse, author of Keep You Close *
Wonderfully dark and intriguing. In Vivian, Atkins has created a fascinating and sinister character who will stay with you long after you've finished the book. Highly recommended * Linda Green, author of While My Eyes Were Closed *
The tension is immediate and unrelenting; the sense of unease palpable. Deceptive on every level, this is a gripping, Rendellesque read * Mick Herron, author of Spook Street *
Beautifully crafted, unsettling and utterly unputdownable, The Night Visitor explores what happens when we take someone else's story and make it our own * Nuala Ellwood, author of My Sister's Bones *
Crackles with undercurrents of mistrust and menace. Tense, atmospheric and beautifully written, this unnerving tale of ambition and revenge held me captive until the last page. Brilliant * Amanda Jennings, author of In Her Wake *
Clever, multilayered and morally murky. I read it with a delicious sense of dread * Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad *
Elegantly written with a rollercoaster of twists and turns, The Night Visitor has creepy echoes of Zoe Heller's Notes on a Scandal. I read it in two sittings * Elizabeth Heathcote, author of Undertow *
The Night Visitor is an addictive and intricately plotted page-turner. I devoured it and I loved it * Hannah Beckermann, author and journalist *
Thrilling...the sort of book you think about even when not reading, and stay up far later than you should to finish. Atkins is a master of suspense; she creates characters that you feel like you've met, and situations you never want to be in. Completely wonderful * Dr Suzannah Lipscomb, historian, author and TV presenter *
It's clever, complex and compelling and grips right up to that completely unexpected twist. A chilling psychological thriller with beetles! * Fanny Blake, author of House of Dreams *
A fascinating, brilliant, creepy, intelligent novel * Good Housekeeping *

About Lucy Atkins

Lucy Atkins is an award-winning author, feature journalist and Sunday Times book critic. She has written for newspapers including the Guardian, The Times, the Sunday Times and the Telegraph as well as many UK magazines. She teaches on the Masters in Creative Writing at Oxford University.

Additional information

GOR010489825
9781784293246
1784293245
The Night Visitor: the gripping thriller from the author of Magpie Lane by Lucy Atkins
Used - Like New
Paperback
Quercus Publishing
2018-05-03
368
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - The Night Visitor