Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
A Sister's Struggle By Mary Gibson

A Sister's Struggle by Mary Gibson

Condition - Very Good
$35.99
Only 1 left

Summary

A young girl struggles to keep body and soul together in 1930s London, while her proud but spendthrift widowed father refuses to accept charity.

A Sister's Struggle Summary

A Sister's Struggle by Mary Gibson

The heartfelt new saga from Mary Gibson, bestselling author of Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts.

London, 1935.

Ruby is always hungry, but she will go without if it means her young brothers can eat.

1930s Bermondsey might be called the larder of London, with its pie, pickle and jam factories, but for the poor working classes, starvation is a heartbeat away.

When Ruby's neighbour suggests she go to the Methodist Mission for free food, Ruby knows her father will be furious, but that she has no other option.

It is a decision that will change the course of her life forever and lead her to face a terrible choice between duty and a great love.

Praise for A SISTER'S STRUGGLE:

'Affecting, poignant and intensely emotional ... A stirring and captivating read guaranteed to tug at your heartstrings that is absolutely perfect for fans of Call the Midwife' Julie, Bookish Jottings.

'Beautifully written book. I feel so honoured to have witnessed this raw and heartfelt story and I am hoping this review will give the book the justice it deserves ... An emotional and heartfelt journey [...] told with pure honesty and heart' Stacey is Reading.

'A brilliant saga filled with intrigue and questions ... Full of friendship, family and choices, it's a book I can highly recommend to all saga fans. But do remember to set aside a day to read, because once you start, you won't want to put the book down' Lauren, Mixing Reality with Fiction.

'Brilliant depiction of London and life during trying times. I immediately wanted Ruby and her family to be OK and was rooting for them' Katherine's Book Universe.

'Perfect reading on a cold winter's night ... Set around the same time as the popular Call the Midwife, so if you are a fan of that you are sure to like this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it, so much that it's one I will read again' Rachel Bustin.

'A truly beautiful book ... It gives you a glimpse into real London in the 1930s ... An eye-opening book, and if you love Call the Midwife, you will LOVE this book' Cara's Book Boudoir.

A Sister's Struggle Reviews

PRAISE FOR MARY GIBSON:
'Danger, glamour and adventure ... An explosive finale which will have readers frantically turning the pages' The Bookbag.
'A fabulous, fascinating read' Vanessa Feltz.
'This wonderfully descriptive book ... A must-read' * OK magazine *

About Mary Gibson

Mary Gibson was born and brought up in Bermondsey, south east London, where both her grandmother and mother were factory girls. She is the author of the bestselling Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts, which was selected for World Book Night 2015, and five other novels, Jam and Roses, Gunner Girls and Fighter Boys, Bourbon Creams and Tattered Dreams, Hattie's Home and A Sister's Struggle. marygibsonauthor.co.uk @MaryGibsonBooks

Additional information

GOR009627726
9781788542616
1788542614
A Sister's Struggle by Mary Gibson
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Head of Zeus
2019-02-07
448
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - A Sister's Struggle