Free Shipping In Australia
Currency:
AUD $ AUD
Guaranteed Christmas Delivery Has Ended | We can no longer guarantee arrival by December 25th
The Crash of Hennington By Patrick Ness

The Crash of Hennington
by Patrick Ness

In Stock
$17.99
+10% GST
Hennington finds itself in a state of flux, with both the mayor and the chairman of Banyon Enterprises ready to step down. As a heat wave descends on the city, the crash of rhinos that wanders the city's streets and parks is becoming restless, and has already caused several rushhour traffic jams.
Only 1 left

The Crash of Hennington Summary


The Crash of Hennington by Patrick Ness

A satirical novel with real emotional depth, from a debut author who will appeal to readers of Peter Carey and Tom Robbins 'I can't remember reading a novel in such a compulsive, leave-me-in-peace way since Tales from the City. Patrick Ness weaves Armistead Maupin's mini-chapters, sharp dialogue and outrageous plot-weaving with hallucinatory, apocalyptic material worthy of Russell Hoban or Philip Pullman but the unpredictable result is entirely original. More please!' patrick gale With the legendary Cora Larsson finally stepping down as Mayor to make way for her protegee, Max Latham, the seaside city of Hennington finds itself in a state of flux. In the midst of the worst heatwave in living memory, even the crash of rhinos that wanders the city's streets and parks is becoming restless, and has caused several rush-hour traffic jams this week. Across town, bow-legged and malevolent Country Club owner Thomas Banyon's temperature is also rising, as he stews over the small size of his particular universe -- and at the tight leash held on him by his powerful father Archie, scion of Banyon Enterprises and friend to Cora Larsson. In fact, come to think of it, Thomas just might be the perfect candidate to run for Mayor against Cora's golden boy, Max...Told with great style, wit and feeling, The Crash of Hennington is a magnificent satirical novel with real emotional depth. Reminiscent of the work of Peter Carey and Tom Robbins, it combines a refreshing, unshowy intelligence with a wonderfully rich cast of characters, in a setting that is both surreally different and undeniably familiar. Welcome to Hennington.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Crash of Hennington Reviews


'Patrick Ness recreates the world as we know it, infusing it with a charm and whimsy that brings to mind Calvino and, of course, the Ionesco of "Rhinoceros". This is a true changeling of a book, both funny and subversive.' T.C. Boyle

About Patrick Ness


patrick ness was brought up in Seattle, on the west coast of America, but now lives in London. The Crash of Hennington is his first novel.

Additional information

GOR001622914
The Crash of Hennington by Patrick Ness
Patrick Ness
Used - Very Good
Hardback
HarperCollins Publishers
2003-01-20
496
0007139411
9780007139415
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.