Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Narrowboat Girls By Rosie Archer

The Narrowboat Girls by Rosie Archer

Condition - Good
$38.99
Only 2 left

Summary

Nostalgic, heartwarming Second World War saga for fans of Daisy Styles and Elaine Everest

The Narrowboat Girls Summary

The Narrowboat Girls: a heartwarming story of friendship, struggle and falling in love by Rosie Archer

Elsie Barker is desperate for a new start after her husband leaves her. When her friend Izzy, herself planning an escape from her abusive boyfriend, tells her about the jobs going for women as narrowboat crew on the canals between London and Coventry, she jumps at the chance.

Their new boss, Dorothy, is kind and fair, but it's clear she has a secret of her own. Their crew is completed by Tolly, searching for a new vocation now that her dream job has been snatched away. The work is hard, but the girls forge close friendships that will see them through the darkest times.

What none of them could have predicted, though, is just how much working on the canals will change their lives. Could it really be that what started as a means of escape will end up giving each of them everything they ever wanted?

The Narrowboat Girls Reviews

A gripping story packed with darkness and light, love and friendship, greed and betrayal - Lancashire Evening Post on The Factory Girls

A nostalgic story packed with drama, tension, passion and the grim realities of life in wartime England - Lancashire Evening Post on The Munitions Girls

About Rosie Archer

Rosie Archer was born in Gosport, Hampshire, where she still lives. She has had a variety of jobs including waitress, fruit picker, barmaid, shop assistant and market trader selling second-hand books. Rosie is the author of several Second World War sagas set on the south coast of England, as well as a series of gangster sagas under the name June Hampson.

Additional information

GOR011145000
9781786483584
1786483580
The Narrowboat Girls: a heartwarming story of friendship, struggle and falling in love by Rosie Archer
Used - Good
Hardback
Quercus Publishing
2018-06-14
384
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Narrowboat Girls