Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
Gerald Finzi By Stephen Banfield

Gerald Finzi

Used Price
44,99 $
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
A biography of Gerald Finzi, a composer whose music is rooted in the tradition of Elgar, Parry, Vaughan Williams and those composers in the opening decades of the 20th century for whom song writing was a principal means of expression.

Only 2 left


Gerald Finzi Summary


Gerald Finzi by Stephen Banfield

This is a biography of a composer whose music is rooted in the tradition of Elgar, Parry, Vaughan Williams and those composers in the opening decades of the 20th century for whom song writing was a principal means of expression. Finzi is now seen as he may have seen himself - as an artist whose limitations were innate and whose pastoral or provincial lifestyle and aspirations would reflect those limitations whilst somehow invalidating them.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

About Stephen Banfield


Stephen Banfield is currently Stanley Hugh Badock Professor of Music at the University of Bristol. From 1992 to 2003 he was Elgar Professor of Music at the University of Birmingham. His highly acclaimed biography of Gerald Finzi was published by Faber in 1997, and he is also the author of Sensibility and English Song, Sondheim's Broadway Musicals and editor of the twentieth-century volume of The Blackwell History of Music in Britain

Additional information

GOR002642737
Gerald Finzi by Stephen Banfield
Stephen Banfield
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Faber & Faber
1998-08-03
592
0571195989
9780571195985
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.