The Yard: Book 1 by Alex Grecian

The Yard: Book 1 by Alex Grecian

£2.80

Availability: Out of stock

Victorian London is in the grip of a wave of crime and murder, with its citizens no longer able to trust the police to protect them. The newly formed Murder Squad of Scotland Yard, made up of just twelve detectives, battles in vain against the tide of violence and cruelty.

Description

Details

A gripping debut from Alex Grecian, "The Yard" evokes London in the wake of Jack the Ripper. Victorian London is in the grip of a wave of crime and murder, with its citizens no longer able to trust the police to protect them. The newly formed Murder Squad of Scotland Yard, made up of just twelve detectives, battles in vain against the tide of violence and cruelty. When the body of a Yard detective is found in a suitcase, his lips sewn together and his eyes sewn shut, it becomes clear that not even the police are safe from attack. Has the Ripper returned - or is a new killer at large? Walter Day, the squad's newest recruit, is assigned the case and finds a strange ally in the Yard's first forensic pathologist, Dr Bernard Kingsley. Can they find the murderer before it's too late? Or is London at the mercy of a serial killer even deadlier than Jack the Ripper? Fans of "Interpretation of Murder" and "The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher" will love Alex Grecian's first crime novel: "The Yard". "The Yard" will take you into the dark side of Victorian London and offers a fascinating insight into the birth of CSI. Praise for "The Yard": "If Charles Dickens isn't somewhere clapping his hands for this one, Wilkie Collins surely is". ("New York Times"). Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods, and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed comic book series "Proof", and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son. "The Yard" is his first novel.

Additional Information

Additional Information

SKU GOR004434997
Title The Yard: Book 1
Author By (author) Alex Grecian
Condition VERYGOOD
Binding Type Paperback
Publisher Penguin Books Ltd
Year Published 2013
Number of Pages 592
ISBN 10 0241958911
ISBN 13 9780241958919
Edition N/A
Prizes N/A
Cover Note: Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note: This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.
Description

Details

A gripping debut from Alex Grecian, "The Yard" evokes London in the wake of Jack the Ripper. Victorian London is in the grip of a wave of crime and murder, with its citizens no longer able to trust the police to protect them. The newly formed Murder Squad of Scotland Yard, made up of just twelve detectives, battles in vain against the tide of violence and cruelty. When the body of a Yard detective is found in a suitcase, his lips sewn together and his eyes sewn shut, it becomes clear that not even the police are safe from attack. Has the Ripper returned - or is a new killer at large? Walter Day, the squad's newest recruit, is assigned the case and finds a strange ally in the Yard's first forensic pathologist, Dr Bernard Kingsley. Can they find the murderer before it's too late? Or is London at the mercy of a serial killer even deadlier than Jack the Ripper? Fans of "Interpretation of Murder" and "The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher" will love Alex Grecian's first crime novel: "The Yard". "The Yard" will take you into the dark side of Victorian London and offers a fascinating insight into the birth of CSI. Praise for "The Yard": "If Charles Dickens isn't somewhere clapping his hands for this one, Wilkie Collins surely is". ("New York Times"). Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods, and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed comic book series "Proof", and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son. "The Yard" is his first novel.
Additional Information

Additional Information

SKU GOR004434997
Title The Yard: Book 1
Author By (author) Alex Grecian
Condition VERYGOOD
Binding Type Paperback
Publisher Penguin Books Ltd
Year Published 2013
Number of Pages 592
ISBN 10 0241958911
ISBN 13 9780241958919
Edition N/A
Prizes N/A
Cover Note: Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note: This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.