Free Shipping In the UK
C.S.Lewis By A. N. Wilson

by A. N. Wilson

In Stock
"The Chronicles of Narnia" made C.S. Lewis one of the best-known writers of the 20th century. He is also known for his religious books and works of scholarship. This biography traces his life from Ulster to Oxford, where he became a fellow of Magdalene College, and also examines his private life.
Only 4 left

C.S.Lewis Summary

C.S.Lewis: A Biography by A. N. Wilson

The Chronicles of Narnia made C.S. Lewis one of the most successful and best loved writers of the twentieth century. He also won an enormous following through his religious books - "Mere Christianity", "The Screwtape Letters", "Surprised by Joy" - books which are still sold in their thousands today. His works of scholarship - above all his "English Literature in the Sixteenth Century" - have achieved classic status. Lewis was a brillant, prolific writer and a deeply complex man, capable of inspiring both great devotion and great hostility. A.N. Wilson charts the progress of the clever child from Ulster to Oxford, where he was a fellow of Magdalen College for the greater part of his adult life. He describes Lewis's unwilling conversion to Christianity, the Oxford circle of his friends known as the Inklings (which included J.R.R.Tolkien and David Cecil) and the genesis of his writing; most intriguingly of the Narnia stories. He explores Lewis's relationship with a much older woman, Janie Moore, which kept him in domestic thrall for thirty years, and his later marriage to a divorced women in defiance of the church.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Table of Contents

Antecedents; early days 1898 - 1905; little lea 1905 - 1908; schools 1908 - 1914; the great knock 1914 - 1917; the angel of pain 1917 - 1918; undergraduate 1919 - 1922; heavy Lewis 1922 - 1925; redemption by Parricide 1925 - 1929; mythopoeia 1929 - 1931; regress 1931 - 1936; the Inklings 1936 - 1939; screwtape 1939 - 1942; separations 1942 - 1945; narnia 1945 - 1951; the silver chair 1951 - 1954; smoke on the mountain 1954 - 1957; marriage 1957 - 1959; men must endure 1959 - 1960; last years 1960 - 1964; farther up and farther in.

Additional information

C.S.Lewis: A Biography by A. N. Wilson
A. N. Wilson
Used - Very Good
HarperCollins Publishers
Winner of Whitbread Book Awards: Biography Category 1990.
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.