Free Shipping In the UK
The Milkman in the Night By Andrey Kurkov

The Milkman in the Night
by Andrey Kurkov

Out of Stock
After his friend Volodka follows him one night, they discover he's meeting a tall, blonde woman and accompanying her to her apartment. In the daytime he doesn't know this woman or where her apartment is and, odder yet, someone is watching Volodka watching Semyon.
Only 0 left

The Milkman in the Night Summary


The Milkman in the Night by Andrey Kurkov

Semyon is disturbed. He has woken up in the living room with blood on his shirt, an angry wife and no idea where he was the night before. When this happens several mornings in a row, he realises he needs to investigate. After his friend Volodka follows him one night, they discover he's meeting a tall, blonde woman and accompanying her to her apartment. In the daytime he doesn't know this woman or where her apartment is and, odder yet, someone is watching Volodka watching Semyon. Meanwhile, there are some strange goings-on in Kiev - an unemployed sniffer-dog handler makes a dangerous discovery, a single mother is providing breast milk for an unusual recipient and a vengeful cat is on the loose...

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Milkman in the Night Reviews


"A glorious, epic, eccentric and often hilarious satire, heavily tinged with Russian melancholy" -- Kate Saunders * The Times *
"There is much to enjoy in this book. Kurkov works in the tradition of Nikolai Gogol and Mikhail Bulgakov, blending folkloric characters, magical realism and political satire to reveal a society riddled with greed, stupidity and corruption" -- Marina Lewycka * Financial Times *
"Good-hearted and brutal at the same time, The Milkman in the Night is a complex, unsettling mixture of bleakness and warmth" * Sunday Times *
"Kurkov is hugely talented" * Time Out *
"This book is a joyride... Kurkov has a rollercoaster of fun between zig and zag. He defies the reader not to join him" * Scotsman *

About Andrey Kurkov


Andrey Kurkov was born in St Petersburg in 1961. Having graduated from the Kiev Foreign Languages Institute, he worked for some time as a journalist, did his military service as a prison warder in Odessa, then became a film cameraman, writer of screenplays and author of critically acclaimed and popular novels.

Additional information

GOR004686889
The Milkman in the Night by Andrey Kurkov
Andrey Kurkov
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Vintage Publishing
2012-08-01
480
0099548860
9780099548867
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.