Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The House Guest By Charlotte Northedge

The House Guest by Charlotte Northedge

New RRP £14.99
Condition - Good
£7.79
Only 1 left

The House Guest Summary

The House Guest by Charlotte Northedge

The perfect family. The perfect chance. The perfect lie.

A stunning novel about motherhood and betrayal, for readers who love Sarah Vaughan and Louise Candlish.

'Deliciously dark and totally twisted' ERIN KELLY

'Very acute on class, aspiration, women and status' SARAH PERRY, author of THE ESSEX SERPENT

Kate trusts Della, and Della trusts Kate.
Their downfall is each other.

When Kate moves to London after the disappearance of her sister, she's in need of a friend. A chance meeting leads Kate to Della, a life coach who runs support groups for young women, dubbed by Kate as 'the Janes.'

Della takes a special interest in Kate, and Kate soon finds herself entangled in Della's life - her house, her family, and her husband. It's only when she realises that she's in too deep that Della's veneer begins to crumble, and the warnings from 'the Janes' begin to come true.

Why is Della so keen to keep Kate by her side? What does Kate have that Della might want? And what really lies beneath the surface of their friendship?

A twisty psychological thriller for fans of Louise Candlish and Harriet Tyce.

'This twisty thriller is jam-packed with tense moments and a growing sense of unease' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

'Dark, smart and classy' GILLIAN MCALLISTER

The House Guest Reviews

'This twisty thriller is jam-packed with tense moments and a growing sense of unease' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

'Northedge is good at portraying the distinction between the real insecurities of some young women and the minor problems of the privileged type' DAILY MAIL

'This is ace. Very acute on class, aspiration, women and status and all those agonising negotiations and anxieties' SARAH PERRY, author of THE ESSEX SERPENT

'The House Guest is that delicious kind of novel, a slow-burn thriller that carefully draws the reader in, catches fire in the middle and burns with an intensity until the end' FIONA CUMMINS, author of RATTLE

'A dark and intriguing debut that simmers with tension and unease' LUCY CLARKE, author of THE CASTAWAYS

'Dark, smart and classy - I was totally gripped by The House Guest' Gillian McAllister, author of LAST NIGHT

'A deliciously dark and totally twisted look at the lengths some people will go to project a perfect life. The tension starts with the first line and doesn't let up until the jaw-dropping last page' ERIN KELLY

'Compelling, dark and twisted!' KAREN HAMILTON

'Deliciously dark' VICTORIA SELMAN

'A dark and addictive thriller with compelling characters and an original story exploring motherhood, obsession and lies.' JENNY QUINTANA

'An electrifying debut.' ROBIN MORGAN-BENTLEY, author of The Wreckage

'Raced through the creepy and disturbing The House Guest by Charlotte Northedge. Kate's descent into Della's Stepford-like world is believable and chilling.' ROZ WATKINS, author of The Devil's Dice

'Creepy and unsettlinge' LOUISE JENSEN
'Complex and gripping, the darkest revenge-noir I've read since Gone Girl' POLLY SAMSON

'Fabulously twisted, disturbing slow burn of a thriller that explores the relationship between a life coach and her protegee where nothing is as it first seems' NIKKI SMITH, author of All In Her Head

About Charlotte Northedge

Charlotte Northedge is the joint editor of Guardian Review and Head of Books for the Guardian. Charlotte has previously written for a range of newspapers and magazines, including the Guardian, Psychologies and Cosmopolitan. She has an MA in Modern and Contemporary Literature from Birkbeck and is an alumni of the Curtis Brown Creative writing course.

Additional information

GOR011496446
9780008402532
0008402531
The House Guest by Charlotte Northedge
Used - Good
Hardback
HarperCollins Publishers
20210513
352
null null null null null null null null null null
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The House Guest