Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
Fear By Dirk Kurbjuweit

Fear by Dirk Kurbjuweit

New RRP £12.99
Condition - Like New
£3.79
Only 2 left

Summary

The most original psychological thriller of 2018, for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW and WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN. How do you protect your family when the law's not on your side?

Fear Summary

Fear: The gripping thriller that has everyone talking by Dirk Kurbjuweit

READ THE MOST CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED THRILLER OF 2018:

'You'll never see your neighbours in the same light again' OBSERVER
'Beautifully written, frightening and absorbing' THE TIMES
'As intellectually stimulating as it is gripping *****' DAILY TELEGRAPH
'[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller' - SUNDAY TIMES
'Something we've not see before in contemporary crime fiction' GUARDIAN
'Takes you right into the heart of darkness' MAIL ON SUNDAY
'There's a twist at the end that is worth waiting for' INDEPENDENT
'A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs' WOMAN&HOME
'If you liked WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN, try FEAR' - BBC NEWS
'This creepy tale of obsession will make you wonder 'what would I do?' SUNDAY MIRROR
'A gripping tale of domestic terror' IRISH TIMES
'A must have new read' DAILY EXPRESS

You'd die for your family. But would you kill for them?

Family is everything. So what if yours was being terrorised by a neighbour - a man who doesn't listen to reason, whose actions become more erratic and sinister with each passing day? And those you thought would help - the police, your lawyer - can't help you.

You become afraid to leave your family at home alone. But there's nothing more you can do to protect them.

Is there?

FEAR is the most original thriller of 2018 - for fans of LULLABY, THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL and THE GUILTY WIFE.

************

What people are saying about FEAR:

'I'm intrigued by Dirk Kurbjuweit's novel FEAR, about a stalker living downstairs' - LIONEL SHRIVER, THE OBSERVER

'Brilliantly done to play on every parents' deepest fears' - FIONA BARTON, bestselling author of THE WIDOW

'Thought-provoking, intelligent and genuinely chilling' - ELIZABETH HAYNES, author of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER

'A terrific, original thriller - I loved it' JOANNE HARRIS

'FEAR makes us sympathetic to violent revenge, accessories to murder' - HERMAN KOCH, author of THE DINNER

'I loved it. So rich and claustrophobic' - RENEE KNIGHT, author of DISCLAIMER

'The most original thriller of the year' - NETGALLEY

'Expertly constructed, highly entertaining and thought-provoking' - Cloggie, Amazon reviewer

'If you're looking for a thriller with psychological insight, I highly recommend this one' - Marjorie, Amazon reviewer

'Not your usual thriller' - Fiona, Amazon reviewer

-------------------------

FEAR is translated from the German by Imogen Taylor

Fear Reviews

Praise for FEAR, the most original thriller of 2018 for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW by A.J. Finn, LULLABY by Leila Slimani and ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL by Sarah Vaughan:

A terrific, original thriller, and a marvellous exploration of the psychology of menace - I loved it

* JOANNE HARRIS *
Five stars - as intellectually stimulating as it is gripping -- Jake Kerridge * DAILY TELEGRAPH *
Wonderfully sinister. . . You'll never see your neighbours in the same light again * THE OBSERVER *
Beautifully written, frightening and absorbing * THE TIMES *
Something we've not seen before in contemporary crime fiction * GUARDIAN *
Kurbjuweit takes you right into the heart of darkness * MAIL ON SUNDAY *
I'm intrigued by Dirk Kurbjuweit's novel FEAR, about a stalker living downstairs * LIONEL SHRIVER, Observer's Best Holiday Reads 2017 *
If you liked WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN, try FEAR by Dirk Kurbjuweit... Claustrophobic and unsettling * BBC NEWS *
[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller... A powerfully disturbing read * SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB *
Its layers of paranoia and memories are brilliantly done to play on every parents' deepest fears - including mine * FIONA BARTON, bestselling author of THE WIDOW *
Addictive... There's a twist at the end that is worth waiting for * INDEPENDENT *
This creepy tale of obsession will make you wonder 'what would I do?' * SUNDAY MIRROR *
FEAR shifts our moral codes. It makes us sympathetic to violent revenge, accessories to murder. Do we want the victim to survive? No, we don't. Long after I had put this book down I still didn't. A great achievement * HERMAN KOCH, bestselling author of THE DINNER *
A must-have new read * DAILY EXPRESS *
I loved it. So rich and claustrophobic. An unsettling tale of merciless self-scrutiny * RENEE KNIGHT, Sunday Times bestselling author of DISCLAIMER *
A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs * WOMAN & HOME *
FEAR grips you from the get-go. A creeping, creepy and darkly-hued tale of family, fatherhood and failure, it is also a deliciously suspenseful thriller, an intelligent investigation into guilt and a superb slice of bourgeois domestic noir * STAV SHEREZ, author of A DARK REDEMPTION *
Thought-provoking and intelligent, calling into question our own values when dealing with those on the fringes of society.. Genuinely chilling, and a compelling read * ELIZABETH HAYNES, bestselling author of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER *
FEAR is a smart, psychologically complex and morally acute fable decked out in the garb of an intricate thriller... [and] a wry, complex, at times disturbing survey of middle-class life * SYDNEY MORNING HERALD *
The most original thriller of the year * NETGALLEY *
Highly original and chilling * BOOKRIOT.COM *

About Dirk Kurbjuweit

Dirk Kurbjuweit is deputy editor-in-chief at German current affairs magazine Der Spiegel, where he has worked since 1999, and divides his time between Berlin and Hamburg. He has received numerous awards for his writing, including the Egon Erwin Kisch Prize for journalism, and is the author of seven critically acclaimed novels, many of which, including FEAR, have been adapted for film, television and radio in Germany. FEAR is the first of his works to be translated into English.

Additional information

GOR008517896
9781409172024
1409172023
Fear: The gripping thriller that has everyone talking by Dirk Kurbjuweit
Used - Like New
Hardback
Orion Publishing Co
2018-01-25
304
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - Fear