Free Shipping In the UK
The Forbidden Garden By Ellen Herrick

The Forbidden Garden
by Ellen Herrick

In Stock
£3.59
"P.S. insights, interviews & more..."--Cover.
Only 2 left

The Forbidden Garden Summary


The Forbidden Garden: A Novel by Ellen Herrick

"Captivating [...] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love." -Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life. Every garden is a story, waiting to be told...At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate. Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried-and failed-to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house's history-especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls-and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets...

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Forbidden Garden Reviews


"The Forbidden Garden is a romantic, big-hearted novel that celebrates femininity in all its nurturing, resilient, and fearless power." -- Heather Young, author of The Lost Girls "Readers who loved Alice Hoffman's Practical Magic and Audrey Niffenegger's Time Traveler's Wife, are in for a wonderful treat with Ellen Herrick's lovely new novel." -- M.J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author "In this captivating read, Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love." -- Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal "[...] Sorrel's rapport with the plants and garden and the powers they possess will resonate with those who enjoy stories of drawing strength from the land. Recommend this to readers of Sarah Addison Allen, Kate Morton, and Vanessa Diffenbaugh." -- Booklist "In the spirit of the film Practical Magic, based on the novel by Alice Hoffman, mixed with a mesmerizing gardening book, this enchanted, romantic story will be savored..." -- Library Journal

About Ellen Herrick


Ellen Herrick was a publishing professional in New York City until she and her husband moved to London for a brief stint; they returned nearly twenty years later with three children (her own, it must be said). She now divides her time between Cambridge, Massachusetts, and a small town on Cape Cod very much like Granite Point.

Additional information

GOR008625296
The Forbidden Garden: A Novel by Ellen Herrick
Ellen Herrick
Used - Very Good
Paperback
HarperCollins Publishers Inc
2017-03-27
400
0062499955
9780062499950
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.