Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Strain By Guillermo del Toro

The Strain by Guillermo del Toro

New RRP £12.99
Condition - Very Good
£4.79
10 in stock

Summary

The high-concept thriller with a supernatural edge from the world-famous director, whose films include Pan's Labyrinth and Hellboy.

The Strain Summary

The Strain by Guillermo del Toro

The high-concept thriller with a supernatural edge from the world-famous director, whose films include Pan's Labyrinth and Hellboy.

A plane lands at JFK and mysteriously 'goes dark', stopping in the middle of the runway for no apparent reason, all lights off, all doors sealed. The pilots cannot be raised.

When the hatch above the wing finally clicks open, it soon becomes clear that everyone on board is dead - although there is no sign of any trauma or struggle. Ephraim Goodweather and his team from the Center for Disease Control must work quickly to establish the cause of this strange occurrence before panic spreads.

The first thing they discover is that four of the victims are actually still alive. But that's the only good news. And when all two hundred corpses disappear from various morgues around the city on the same night, things very rapidly get worse. Soon Eph and a small band of helpers will find themselves battling to protect not only their own loved ones, but the whole city, against an ancient threat to humanity.

Perfect for fans of Dean Koontz's The Eyes of Darkness

The Strain Reviews

'The first in a trilogy that soars with spellbinding intrigue. Truly, an unforgettable tale you can't put down once you read the first page. I can't wait until the next one.' Clive Cussler

'Blood and apocalypse mix in a terrifying story that feels like it was ripped from today's headlines. Vividly wrought and relentlessly paced, THE STRAIN haunts as much as it terrifies. I cannot wait to see where Del Toro and Hogan take us next.' James Rollins

'A rattling piece of escapism' The Times

'An entertaining mix of action blockbuster and vampire myth ... with Del Toro's talent for creating fantastical, macabre characters shining through ... an exciting page-turner' Metro

'Del Toro and Hogan succeed in constructing a driving plot and delivering a gripping conclusion. Great characters ... and a flair for striking scenes get this trilogy off to a first-rate start. Kirkus Reviews

About Guillermo del Toro

Guillermo Del Toro has enjoyed huge critical and commercial success as a film director in both his native Mexico and Hollywood. His works include Pan's Labyrinth, The Devil's Backbone, Blade II and Hellboy. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife and children.

Chuck Hogan was a video store clerk in Boston when his first thriller, 'The Standoff', was published to critical acclaim and went on to become a US bestseller, translated into fourteen international editions. The film rights to his third novel, 'Prince of Thieves' is in development with Warner Brothers, with Ben Afflect signed up to direct and star.

Additional information

GOR001282534
9780007310258
0007310250
The Strain by Guillermo del Toro
Used - Very Good
Hardback
HarperCollins Publishers
2009-06-02
416
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Strain