Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The School Run By Helen Whitaker

The School Run by Helen Whitaker

New RRP £8.99
Condition - Very Good
£3.49
7 in stock

Summary

Two mothers. Two best friends. One school place.
Old friends Imogen and Lily will do whatever it takes to get their children into the perfect school. A laugh-out-loud read about competitive parenting for readers who enjoyed Why Mummy Swears, Rev and Motherland.

The School Run Summary

The School Run: A laugh-out-loud novel full of humour and heart by Helen Whitaker

'Funny and frank' DAWN O'PORTER
'Truly brilliant' EMMA GANNON

Two mothers. Two daughters. One school place.

Imogen and Lily are old friends - they've shared hangovers, unsuitable boyfriends and wild nights out together. But now they're mums, and their partying days are behind them.

When a place comes up at one of the best primary schools in the area, both women want it for their daughters. From faking religious beliefs to bogus break-ups, Imogen and Lily will go to any lengths to secure the perfect school for their children - and so will all the other mothers.

Will their friendship survive the strain? Will their marriages take the pressure? And when a sexy new vicar arrives on the scene, will the mothers' keep focus for long enough to keep their eyes on the prize?

A hilarious, heartwarming read, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Fiona Gibson.

The School Run Reviews

Funny and heart-warming on motherhood, marriage and female friendship. * SheerLuxe.com *
Funny and frank about competitive parenting, emotional labour and post-parenthood marriage. * Dawn O'Porter, author of The Cows *
Helen is a hilariously witty, observational and truly brilliant storyteller. I loved this book and it will make you snort. * Emma Gannon, author of The Multi-Hyphen Method *
Helen has created a rollercoaster of a narrative on a scenario so many of us relate to, which will make you laugh, cry and cringe all at once! But with all the emotional turmoil and mind-bending plot twists, what really stands out is the women themselves - women you know, women you're friends with, women who intimidate you on the school run. The characters are so real and so relatable, the storyline is doubly moving. And I wish I'd said a whole bunch of hilarious remarks myself on the playground! * Grace Timothy, author of Mum Face *
'A fabulous, funny debut about friendship and the perils of push parenting. Required reading for anyone who has been anywhere near the school gate.' * Tasmina Perry *
Packed with hilarious moments! * Woman magazine *
'Reassuring, packed with wry humour - this will resonate with Mums everywhere' * Woman and Home *

About Helen Whitaker

Helen Whitaker is a 37-year-old, journalist and mum-of-one living in Walthamstow. She is the former Entertainment Director of Glamour, and has written for a number of publications including Stella, The Telegraph, Fabulous and Total Film. Helen is currently Acting Deputy Editor at British Airways High Life magazine.

Additional information

GOR009948030
9781409183723
1409183726
The School Run: A laugh-out-loud novel full of humour and heart by Helen Whitaker
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Orion Publishing Co
2019-08-08
336
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The School Run