Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus By Julian Fellowes

Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus by Julian Fellowes

New RRP £12.99
Condition - Very Good
£7.19
Only 3 left

Summary

Two SUNDAY TIMES bestsellers in one from the creator of DOWNTON ABBEY.

Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus Summary

Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus by Julian Fellowes

Two SUNDAY TIMES bestsellers in one from the creator of DOWNTON ABBEY.

SNOBS

Edith Lavery, the attractive only child of a middle-class accountant, leaves behind her dull job when she manages to bag one of the most eligible bachelors in town. But is life amongst the aristocracy really all that it seems...?

PAST IMPERFECT

Damian Baxter is very, very rich. But he has one concern: who should inherit his fortune. A letter from an ex-girlfriend suggests Damian may have fathered a child, but the letter is anonymous. Finding the truth will not be easy - and the only man who can help is Damian's sworn enemy...

Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus Reviews

" Like a visit of an English country estate: breezy, beautiful, and charming."
- "The" "New York Times Book Review"
" [A] guilty pleasure of a novel [that] seems authentic down to the wallpaper and the Wellingtons. Hilarious... sharp, entertaining, and unforgiving."
- Anna Quindlen ""Snobs," by Julian Fellowes, is an hilariously snobbish novel about hilariously snobbish people involved in a society scandal. Froth at its best. His writing is as stylish as his story. Mr. Fellowes knows his turf well."
- Dominick Dunne
" I couldn' t put "Snobs" down: Who could resist a great story of a beautiful, ambitious girl on her climb to the turreted top of the castle-hopping set? As witty as he is smart, Julian Fellowes is the Oscar-winning, Oscar Wilde of the minute." - Plum Sykes
"Julian Fellowes's witty, wise depiction of the lives and lunacies of upper-class English life is just my cup of tea...."
- Jane Stanton Hitchcock
""Snobs" is everything you would hope for from the writer of "Gosford Park," A delicious thoroughbred delight, a guilty treat that is awake to every maddening and appallingly attractive nuance of English social life. The novel somehow contrives to be moral without being preachy or losing for a minute its gracefully shameless delight in the well bred and their satellites. A kind of Louis Auchincloss for our times, Julian Fellowes has written a book that is destined to grace all the bedside tables of all the better houses in the land."
- Stephen Fry
"This is the kind of book Edith Wharton would have written if she were around today."
- Arnold Scaasi
""Snobs" is aninsightful, funny satire of English upper-crust country life in the tradition of Mitford or Waugh....The best chick-lit book of the season was written by a man."
- "The Globe and Mail"
"Sparklingly rompish...As long as this world does still exist, Fellowes is a delectable guide to its absurdities."
- "Sunday Times" (London)
"Illustrated with some cherishably nasty, "Gosford Park"--style scenes of aristocratic
point-scoring, and far more illuminating than a copy of Correct Form...one of those books one imagines being sent up to Balmoral...where it will be proclaimed divinely funny and quite amazingly true to life."
- "The Guardian"
"Deliciously waspish satire..."Snobs" is terrific entertainment, deepened by the sad ache of truth."
- "Literary Review"
"Fellowes's attractive, faintly cynical voice has overtones of Trollope, Waugh, and Mitford."
- "The Independent"
"A delicious comedy of manners on the nuances of English social life, which raises laughter and an occasional wince of recognition."
- "Daily Mail"
"Provocative, titillating, and seductive...Julian Fellowes tells this anachronistic morality tale with such wit, verve, elegance, and schadenfreude that it never loses momentum."
- "The Spectator"
"Fellowes doesn't try to hide his love of the funny, sealed, above-stairs world of dukes, duchesses, marquesses, nusery maids, herbaceous borders, and breakfast kedgeree under its own silver lid, all of which is what makes "Snobs" such a good, fresh read."
- "Telegraph"

"Like a visit of an English country estate: breezy, beautiful, and charming."
- "The" "New York Times Book Review"

"[A] guilty pleasure of a novel [that] seems authentic down to the wallpaper and the Wellingtons. Hilarious sharp, entertaining, and unforgiving."
- Anna Quindlen ""Snobs," by Julian Fellowes, is an hilariously snobbish novel about hilariously snobbish people involved in a society scandal. Froth at its best. His writing is as stylish as his story. Mr. Fellowes knows his turf well."
- Dominick Dunne
"I couldn't put "Snobs" down: Who could resist a great story of a beautiful, ambitious girl on her climb to the turreted top of the castle-hopping set? As witty as he is smart, Julian Fellowes is the Oscar-winning, Oscar Wilde of the minute." - Plum Sykes
"Julian Fellowes's witty, wise depiction of the lives and lunacies of upper-class English life is just my cup of tea...."
- Jane Stanton Hitchcock
""Snobs" is everything you wo

About Julian Fellowes

Julian Fellowes is a multi-award-winning actor, writer, director and producer. As creator, sole writer and executive producer of the hit television series Downton Abbey, Fellowes has won three Emmy awards. He has written two internationally bestselling novels, Snobs and Past Imperfect, and the screenplay for Gosford Park, for which he won an Oscar. He has writing credits for many other films, including Vanity Fair, Young Victoria and Romeo & Juliet. He became a life peer in 2011, and lives in Dorset and London with his wife, Emma.

Additional information

GOR003179856
9781780220239
1780220235
Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus by Julian Fellowes
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Orion Publishing Co
2011-09-01
864
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus