Free Shipping in the UK on over 5 million books in stock

Click to look inside

The Man I Think I Know By Mike Gayle

The Man I Think I Know

In Stock
£4.49
N/A
Only 2 left

The Man I Think I Know Summary


The Man I Think I Know: A feel-good, uplifting story of the most unlikely friendship by Mike Gayle

As seen on ITV in the Zoe Ball Book Club

'Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming.' Ruth Hogan

'Mike Gayle is the king of touching, human stories, and this big-hearted book is his best yet' Heat, 5*

This is the stunning new novel from bestselling author Mike Gayle, for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. A powerful and bittersweet story of an unexpected male friendship and an unlikely love story, a thought provoking storyline told with Mike's distinctive wit and insight, touching on issues which affect us all. This uplifting tale reminds us of the simple courage at the heart of every human being.

Ever since The Incident, James DeWitt has stayed on the safe side.

He likes to know what happens next.

Danny Allen is not on the safe side. He is more past the point of no return.

The past is about to catch up with both of them in a way that which will change their lives forever, unexpectedly.

But redemption can come in the most unlikely ways.

Look out for Mike's new novel, Half a World Away, available to pre-order now!

*******************

Praise for The Man I Think I Know

'Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming . . . reminds us that the everyday things we take for granted without realising how precious they are, can be snatched away in an instant with catastrophic consequences' Ruth Hogan

'That rarest of things; a moving, beautifully written novel about male friendship . . . I absolutely loved it' Lisa Jewell

'Mike is always wise and wonderful, but this is a whole new departure for him - read it!' Jenny Colgan

You'll be both laughing and on the edge of tears with this brilliant read' Fabulous magazine

*******************

Readers are raving about this book!

'This is one of those books that is tugging on your heartstrings one moment and has you laughing out loud the next - another stunning plot line and narrative from Mike Gayle.'

'I loved the narrative and I left this novel feeling totally uplifted . . . I now feel like there is some hope in the world!'

'This book is sad, funny, quirky, touching, heartbreaking but - and this is going to sound totally cliched and corny - life affirming.'

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Man I Think I Know Reviews


The Man I Think I Know by Mike Gayle is amazing! Really uplifting and a jolly good read to boot -- Katie Fforde
That rarest of things; a moving, beautifully written novel about male friendship. The Man I Think I Know is a truthful, wise and wonderfully redemptive story about men stripped bare of the traditional ideals of masculinity - success, strength, power - learning to face up to the real world. I absolutely loved it. -- Lisa Jewell
Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming. Mike does a wonderful job of tackling a tricky subject (ABI) with sensitivity, wit and humour. His story reminds us that the everyday things we take for granted without realising how precious they are, can be snatched away in an instant with catastrophic consequences. But I think the thing that struck me most about this book were the voices of Danny Allen and James DeWitt. They were pitch-perfect and helped to create a pair of characters I was rooting for from the start and cheering for by the end. -- Ruth Hogan
The Man I Think I Know by Mike Gayle is amazing! Really uplifting and a jolly good read to boot -- Katie Fforde
Loved this novel - insightful, moving and funny. Read it -- Freya North
Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming. Mike does a wonderful job of tackling a tricky subject (ABI) with sensitivity, wit and humour. His story reminds us that the everyday things we take for granted without realising how precious they are, can be snatched away in an instant with catastrophic consequences. But I think the thing that struck me most about this book were the voices of Danny Allen and James DeWitt. They were pitch-perfect and helped to create a pair of characters I was rooting for from the start and cheering for by the end. -- Ruth Hogan
Mike is always wise and wonderful, but this is a whole new departure for him - read it! -- Jenny Colgan
Loved this novel - insightful, moving and funny. Read it -- Freya North
Mike is always wise and wonderful, but this is a whole new departure for him - read it! -- Jenny Colgan
A very special book. A moving, thought-provoking storyline told with humour and insight. I loved the distinctive voices of James and Danny and really missed them when I finished it! -- Tracy Rees
The Man I Think I Know is gloriously good. Touching, uplifting, brave and funny, it's a story of life, second chances and daring to believe in better things. James and Danny's friendship is beautifully portrayed: I was rooting for them from the start and cheering them to the finish. I defy anyone not to fall in love with this book. Downright wonderful! -- Miranda Dickinson
A very special book. A moving, thought-provoking storyline told with humour and insight. I loved the distinctive voices of James and Danny and really missed them when I finished it! -- Tracy Rees
Mike Gayle is the king of touching, human stories, and this big-hearted book is his best yet. 5* * Heat *
The Man I Think I Know is gloriously good. Touching, uplifting, brave and funny, it's a story of life, second chances and daring to believe in better things. James and Danny's friendship is beautifully portrayed: I was rooting for them from the start and cheering them to the finish. I defy anyone not to fall in love with this book. Downright wonderful! -- Miranda Dickinson
Mike Gayle is the king of touching, human stories, and this big-hearted book is his best yet. 5* * Heat *
Powerful * Hello magazine *
You'll be both laughing and on the edge of tears with this brilliant read * Fabulous magazine *
Powerful * Hello magazine *
You'll be both laughing and on the edge of tears with this brilliant read * Fabulous magazine *
That rarest of things; a moving, beautifully written novel about male friendship. The Man I Think I Know is a truthful, wise and wonderfully redemptive story about men stripped bare of the traditional ideals of masculinity - success, strength, power - learning to face up to the real world. I absolutely loved it. * Lisa Jewell *

About Mike Gayle


Mike Gayle was born and raised in Birmingham. After graduating from Salford University with a degree in Sociology, he moved to London to pursue a career in journalism and worked as a Features Editor and agony uncle. He has written for a variety of publications including The Sunday Times, the Guardian and Cosmopolitan. Mike became a full time novelist in 1997 following the publication of his Sunday Times top ten bestseller My Legendary Girlfriend, which was hailed by the Independent as 'full of belly laughs and painfully acute observations,' and by The Times as 'a funny, frank account of a hopeless romantic'. Since then he has written thirteen novels including Mr Commitment, Turning Thirty and The Man I Think I Know. His books have been translated into more than thirty languages. You can find him online at mikegayle.co.uk and on Twitter @mikegayle.

Additional information

GOR009365594
The Man I Think I Know: A feel-good, uplifting story of the most unlikely friendship by Mike Gayle
Mike Gayle
Used - Like New
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton
2018-06-14
320
1473608996
9781473608993
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins.