Free Shipping In the UK
Figures in Silk By Vanora Bennett

Figures in Silk
by Vanora Bennett

In Stock
£4.49
A sumptuous wedding feast, two advantageous marriages and a blessing from the golden king
Only 2 left

Figures in Silk Summary


Figures in Silk by Vanora Bennett

A sumptuous wedding feast, two advantageous marriages and a blessing from the golden king When silk merchant John Lambert marries off his two beautiful daughters, their fortunes are set to change forever. Elder daughter Jane starts a notorious liaison with Edward IV, while her sister, Isabel, as the new silkweaver to the court, becomes privy to its most intimate secrets. Could they hold the keys to power in this time of uncertainty? Vanora Bennett brings to life a time of passions and politics, a time of turmoil and tension, a world in flux and a country up for grabs.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Figures in Silk Reviews


Praise for Figures in Silk: 'A richly textured historical novel' The Times 'A vivid, unmissable novel' Eve 'Bennett's novel has the verve of a thriller and the heady rush of a fine historical romance' Easy Living 'A masterly piece of story-telling' Woman & Home '!she presents historical detail with a lightness of touch that brings the silk weavers and their trade vivdly to life.' Ham and High Praise for Portrait of an Unknown Woman: 'Bennett's background detail is impeccable -- part love story, part thriller, all excellently imagined and written' The Times 'There is plenty to admire and enjoy in Bennett's portrayal of a society convulsed by radical change!Vanora Bennett is a writer to watch' Times Literary Supplement 'Distinguished!Romance, intrigue and art history are confidently blended, and Holbein canvases are afforded starring roles' Daily Mail More praise for Portrait of an Unknown Woman: 'If you want a classier-than-average romantic read, one contender is this fine historiccal debut, a 'Girl with a Pearl Earring'-style tale' Sunday Times 'An atmospheric, passionate novel set against a backdrop of religious and political upheaval' Woman and Home 'Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Philippa Gregory will lap up this meticulously researched historical tale!A brilliant study of passion, politics, religion and art' Eve magazine 'Fans of Girl with a Pearl Earring will greet this with open arms: it's a similarly intriguing, clever web of art, passion and historical characters!atmospheric and alive with philosophy and treachery -- exhilarating' Easy Living 'Rich in period detail, full of human passion, 'Portrait of an Unknown Woman' mingles art, politics and family drama to evoke the period when humanism was taking root in England. A fascinating tale, skilfully told and highly recommended' Iain Pears, author of 'The Portrait' 'An enjoyable read' Guardian 'If only history was taught by people like Vanora Bennett!I loved this book' Penny Smith, First magazine

About Vanora Bennett


Vanora Bennett is a journalist and writer. She lived and worked in Russia for 7 years, writing for Reuters and the LA Times. She has been a foreign correspondent and feature writer and contributed to publications including The Times, the LA Times, the Guardian, the Observer and the Evening Standard. She lives in London with her husband and two sons. She has written two previous novels: Portrait of an Unknown Woman and Queen of Silks. Her latest novel, Blood Royal comes out in May 2009.

Additional information

GOR001092912
Figures in Silk by Vanora Bennett
Vanora Bennett
Used - Very Good
Hardback
HarperCollins Publishers
2008-05-06
464
000722494X
9780007224944
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.